If I were invisible, I would…

If I were invisible, I would… 

Run around without a care or fear in the world, of anybody watching me, or being insecure. I would walk down all the streets and knock on all the doors.

I’d shout out compliments to people I pass by instead of holding it all in and acting rather shy. I wouldn’t have to be afraid of what others think of me, but just be who I am. Basically, I’d do everything I’ve been too scared to do. No judgement or sideways glances from anyone else but me. But why do I have to be invisible to let myself be free?

***

air-2352944_960_720

Anytime I’m asked the question “If you had superpowers what would they be?”, invisibility is almost always my answer. I tend to let what other people think of me hold too much weight and I want to please them instead of myself.

Don’t get me wrong, thinking of others is great, just not when that’s all you do. It’s important to consider yourself and your needs as well!

But wouldn’t all my problems be solved if I could just be invisible? That way there’d be no one to look at me, no one to judge me and I wouldn’t feel bound to their will or words. I’d be free to be myself, right?

Maybe not.

If no one could see me, would I be able to interact or really have a relationship with anyone? I’m an introvert, but still… if I’m basically alone in the world with people unknowingly passing me by daily, I’d go crazy! Plus, wouldn’t being invisible be my way of running and hiding from who I am? That’s where my need tofit in and please others comes from – not being confident in myself. For sure, I’m a lot better with my confidence and identity than I used to be, however, I’m not there yet. I’m still not as comfortable in my own skin as I’d like to be. Yeah, having anxiety doesn’t help, but I’m not giving myself an excuse to not improve. I want to get to the point where I can say “yep, this is who I am” and “I don’t care if anyone tries to put me down” because I know I’m valid and loved.

woman-1031507_960_720

Hey everyone! So, I found this cool website for Writing Exercises . They have a random subject generator and that’s where I got the idea to write on “if I were invisible, I would…”. I also decided to only take 100 words to write about the random subject I was given, but because that’s so short I feel that a debrief is needed afterwards. I think I’ll make this a weekly thing.

 

Leave a Reply

